If you haven’t used Facebook‘s privacy feature since it was launched last year, now is the time to start. Off-Facebook Activity allows you to view and regulate the data that applications and websites share with the platform, as well as monitor the type of information third-party apps may access.
You can erase the history of applications and websites that have shared your data using the privacy function. You may also disable future Off-Facebook activity, which instructs Facebook to remove any information it has shared from your account. Alternatively, you may choose which firms you wish to cease sharing your activities with, and they will stop sending you those tailored advertising.
How To Enable The Off-Facebook Activity tool
You can examine what information applications and websites have given to the firm using Facebook’s business tools. You may then delete the information from your account and disable future “off-Facebook behavior” from your account. You’ll be able to manage this for all applications and websites, preventing them from sharing your search activity with Facebook.
To get started, go to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Your Facebook Information > Off-Facebook Activity. From there, you can manage your Off-Facebook Activity, clear all history and turn off any future activity to your account.
When you clean the activity controlled by the program, Facebook will delete the identifiable information shared by the applications and websites. That means Facebook won’t be able to tell which websites you visited or what you looked at, so you won’t see any targeted advertisements from those sites.
If you’d like to control which ads you see (or don’t) on Facebook, go to your Settings on your phone or desktop and select Ad Preferences.
Under Advertisers and Businesses, you can see which advertisers have run ads using a list uploaded to Facebook containing your information. By selecting a company and then choosing Don’t Allow, you won’t see ads from advertisers when they use a list from that company.
You can also go to Ad Settings and turn off ads based on data from partners, ads based on your activity on Facebook Company Products that you see elsewhere and ads that include your social actions. However, doing this won’t delete any data and you’ll still see the same number of ads as before. The off-Facebook activity feature is the best way to remove your data.